Hypocritical much?

The title is an attack on myself. This post, when compared to my last one, is very hypoctrical. You know that Greek guy, Hypocrites? (pronounced Hip-oh-kret-ees) Well, I’m his mother.

The word hypocrisies? It should be hypocrisis. Not that there’s a hippo crisis. There could be, but my own dilemma has turned my thoughts to myself in a selfish, artificial way.

The source of this dilemma, this conundrum? My hair.

I reeeeeally want a haircut. I would like to get a haircut. I’d love a haircut – I need a haircut!

Soon I will be going to Italy and I have heard a few times recently that, upon meeting me, people tend to thing I’m a goody-two shoes who sits home and knits. “Really boring”, one girl said. “A good girl”, a work colleague said. “Kind of quiet”, from another.

While I honestly do sit home and knit sometimes, and I’m more of an introvert than an extrovert, and I hate getting into trouble, I want to be someone who looks exciting and fun because I am fun.

But – I am scared. I don’t want to be passed over because I look boring. First impressions are big in this society – seeing someone’s face on a display picture on Facebook can define one person’s impression of another. I don’t want to look boring, I want something happening on my face, something that makes me stick in people’s mind.

I want a different look and my hair is something that can do that.

Even though it is superficial. Even though it *gasp* costs money. Even though it’s all of that – it’s just a haircut.

Buuuuut…. I want one.

Author: oufg

"It's been my experience that you can nearly always enjoy things if you make up your mind firmly that you will." That's me. With challenges along the way, this 21 year old is trying to find the best way to enjoy life with a love of many things, like food, reading, gardening, writing, learning, eating, working, and a rather fickle mind. If you want, tell me what you'd like me to write about - it's exhilarating to go off on tangents, like exploring an unwritten book

2 thoughts on “Hypocritical much?”

    1. Haha yes it was quite the exaggerated post! My hair is shoulder-length and yesterday I got a fron fringe 🙂 I’ve been trying to grow it out, so I didn’t want to get it cut shorter – so I wen with a fringe and I’m very happy with it! Also, trims are always good to help you feel fresh again!

Leave a Reply

